MR688 - UK Ductal Carcinoma in Situ (DCIS) Trial
University College London (UCL) · Academic
Expired The latest version ended on 9 September 2020. The September 2026 register still lists the agreement, but its term has passed.
- Reference
- DARS-NIC-148348-XTNPJ
- Latest version
- v0.0
- Term of latest version
- 10 September 2010 to 9 September 2020
- Start date
- 10 September 2010
- Data controller
- Sole Data Controller
- Commercial purposes
- No
- Sublicensing
- No
- Files released to date
- 0
Why the data was released
Objective for processing
UK Ductal Carcinoma in situ (DCIS) Trial
To perform a randomised 2 x 2 trial to determine, in screen detected DCIS, the effect on the incidence of subsequent invasive breast cancer of complete excision (WLE) alone compared to that of WLE followed by radiotherapy to the residual breast tissue and/or tamoxifen 20mg daily for five years. The incidence of subsequent DCIS and the cause of death were also monitored as was the continues use of hormone replacement therapy or oral contraceptives.
Processing activities
Not stated in the register.
Expected output
Not stated in the register.
Expected measurable benefits
Not stated in the register.
Benefits reported so far
Yielded Benefits is not a requirement for new applications.
Datasets on the latest version
Legal basis for provision: Approved researcher accreditation under section 39(4)(i) and 39(5) of the Statistical Registration Service Act 2007 ; National Health Service Act 2006 - s251 - 'Control of patient information'.
| Dataset | Type of data | Sensitivity | Frequency | Confidential data |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MRIS - Cause of Death Report | Identifiable | Sensitive | Ongoing | — |
| MRIS - Cohort Event Notification Report | Identifiable | Sensitive | Ongoing | — |
| MRIS - Flagging Current Status Report | Identifiable | Sensitive | Ongoing | — |
| MRIS - Members and Postings Report | Identifiable | Sensitive | Ongoing | — |
| MRIS - Personal Demographics Service | Identifiable | Sensitive | Ongoing | — |
| MRIS - Scottish NHS / Registration | Identifiable | Sensitive | Ongoing | — |
Files released
Files released counts only files released externally by DARS. Access granted in NHS England's own systems, such as its Secure Data Environment, is not included.
No files recorded as released under this agreement.
Version history
The register lists each renewal of this agreement as a separate row. This site has 1 version.
DARS-NIC-148348-XTNPJ-v0.0 10 September 2010 to 9 September 2020
- Title
- MR688 - UK Ductal Carcinoma in Situ (DCIS) Trial
- Commercial
- No
- Sublicensing
- No
- Datasets
- 6
- Files released
- 0
Datasets: MRIS - Cause of Death Report; MRIS - Cohort Event Notification Report; MRIS - Flagging Current Status Report; MRIS - Members and Postings Report; MRIS - Personal Demographics Service; MRIS - Scottish NHS / Registration
Register history
When this agreement appeared in, or was edited in, each monthly edition of the register. Built by comparing every edition this site holds, the earliest of which is July 2021.
-
July 2021 —
already listed in the earliest edition this site holds, so it may be older. 1 version: DARS-NIC-148348-XTNPJ-v0.0
-
June 2023
Amended DARS-NIC-148348-XTNPJ-v0.0
- MRIS - Personal Demographics Service: legal basis:
“
2007;” became “2007 ;”
- MRIS - Personal Demographics Service: legal basis:
“
"Amended in place" means NHS England changed the record without issuing a new version number. The register publishes no changelog for those edits; this site infers them by comparing editions. An edit is attributed to the edition it first appears in, not to the date it was made.
Cite this page
NHS England (2026) Data Uses Register, September 2026 edition, agreement DARS-NIC-148348-XTNPJ, “MR688 - UK Ductal Carcinoma in Situ (DCIS) Trial”. Read via NHS Data Access Explorer (unofficial), https://healthdatauses.uk/agreements/dars-nic-148348-xtnpj/ (accessed [date]).
This address stays the same, but the page is rebuilt with each monthly edition, so the citation names the edition it shows. Every edition's data is kept in the facts store.
Source: datausesregister_september2026.xlsx, September 2026 edition of the NHS England Data Uses Register. Search that workbook for DARS-NIC-148348-XTNPJ to see the original rows.